Lunchtime Sausage Sandwiches

by Amanda Mattos

I live just a couple blocks away from the Bloomingdale Farmer’s Market, which has saddly shuttered for the season. But, when it was going, one of my favorite stands sells free range meats of all kinds. Though I seem to be incapable of leaving their stand without some bigger-than-my-head pork chops, I like to venture into new territory sometimes too. One weekend, full of caffeine and pastry and not much else, I knew I needed to go home and make something substantial. I bought some sage pork sausage links, a baguette, some fresh arugula, and headed home to make sandwiches.

(I also knew I had a couple shallots, garlic, fresh rosemary, olive oil and mustard waiting for me in my kitchen.)

This is less of a proper recipe than it is a lesson in how I think about making food. So many people I know are daunted by the idea of doing anything outside of a recipe. Just think about the flavors you like, use your sense of smell, taste as you go, and you’ll almost always end up with something edible, if not delicious.

sausage-sandwich

First, I broke the sausage up into chunks. I put just a touch of olive oil into a warmed sautee pan and added the sausage. The meat will produce plenty of grease to sauce up the rest of your dish, but you’ll want a little bit in there to get it started. Once the sausage starts browning a little bit, throw in your sliced up shallots and garlic. You’re letting them get nice and caramelized, and the sausage get evenly browned all over. You’ll need stir and turn. It should take 10 minutes or less for everything to get cooked.

Cut the baguette into sandwich-sized segments, and cut in half. Put good quality mustard on it (I like the Jack Daniels Old No. 7 variety), scoop up a good helping of your sausage-onion-garlic mix, and top with a handful of arugula. It’s incredibly easy, and incredibly tasty.

5 responses to “Lunchtime Sausage Sandwiches

  1. These are posts I can totally get behind. I can follow a recipe really well, but I freak out trying to make something on my own. Keep up the “I made this up, you can too!” posts!

  2. Rather than the baguette, I’d think about putting this in a corn tortilla with some fresh salsa fresca and folding it over…

    mikey

  3. Put good quality mustard on it (I like the Jack Daniels Old No. 7 variety),

    You and I have very different ideas of what a quality mustard is, but otherwise this looks nummy.

  4. Midwest Product

    Somewhere, a right-wing blogger is freaking out over the fact that you purchased and subsequently ate fresh arugula.

  5. One variant of the sausage sandwich known hitherto only in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan is the Italian-American cudighi sandwich, noted for the uniquely-seasoned in the sausages developed there.

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cudighi

    The most common sandwich using cudighi sausage, which combines the latter with tomato sauce and mozzarella on a hoagie roll, is a staple of many a bar and restaurant in the Marquette area and to many of us with the requisite experience, recalls the savor of such renowned deep-dish Chicago pies as those from Due’s. The unique sausage is also for sale at local grocers and delis, some of whom do mail-order. Those Googling “cudighi” and “recipe” will find making the sausage from scratch at home less than arduous, and a potential habit suited to impress all those for whom the land of the “Yoopers” are as yet an “undiscovered country” – after Hamlet tried cudighi and stayed, apparently – “from whose bourn no traveler returns…”.

Leave a Reply

