Angry Rant from a New Yorker: What I ate in Vancouver, Part III, Oysters are Good

vancouver-030

By Ben Adler

Continuing my when in Rome approach to my brief sojourn in Vancouver, on my second day there I resolved to try some seafood. Vancouver is a beach town, sort of the way Anchorage is a beach town.
So in December you can’t do much on the beautiful bay except walk along it. While walking I encountered some fish fry places. So I popped into the Tony’s on Granville Island and ordered a pan fried oyster sandwich. (They called it an oyster burger, which strikes me as a misnomer, since burger means ground meat and it wasn’t ground. If you put a crab cake on a sandwich it isn’t a crab burger either, just because a sandwich is unhealthy and comes with french fries doesn’t mean it’s a burger. )

It was excellent. I am firmly of the opinion that cities should stick to what they do best culinarily, more on that in my future Vancouver posts. Vancouver knows how to do fish and seafood and they did this very well, very quickly and reasonably cheaply.

One response to “Angry Rant from a New Yorker: What I ate in Vancouver, Part III, Oysters are Good

  1. Man, you need to get away from Granville Island. Try eating in Kitsalano, or the punjabi arae of town.

Leave a Reply

