Candy Girl: Finland Moving to Ban Candy Cigarettes

Would you allow your child to eat this?

Would you allow your child to eat this?

by Sara Mead

Via AP, the Finnish government is considering a ban on candy cigarettes and licorice pipes, on the grounds they may encourage youth smoking. I’m not sure I buy this. In any case, I did see licorice pipes in a number of stores and markets we visited in Finland, and even taking into account that I’m a.) a candy lover, and b.) a particular fan of black licorice, they looked utterly unappealing to me.

One response to “Candy Girl: Finland Moving to Ban Candy Cigarettes

  1. My parents gave me this as a child. They are non-smokers. I smoke occasionally with friends but that is my decision. A Licorice pipe didn’t force anyone to smoke nor condone it. When my parents gave us these it was usually in our stocking on Christmas. They are a Swedish tradition and its Santa Clause’s pipe.

Leave a Reply

