Butternut Squash Soup

By Kay Steiger

As part of my ongoing quest to both learn how to make soups and use my new immersion blender (I got the Cuisinart SmartStick Hand Blender CSB-76 for Christmas and it works very well), I decided to make a butternut squash soup. This one is adapted from Simply Recipes and turned out quite delicious. It’s hearty and thick — so thick that next time I might add more broth to thin it out a bit. Recipe after the jump.

2 2-1/2 lb. butternut squash
1 Tbsp butter
1 large yellow onion, chopped
1 carrot, chopped
2 tart green apple, peeled, cored, chopped
3 1/2 cups vegetable broth
nutmeg, cinnamon, salt and pepper to taste

I started by halving the butternut squash and roasting it in the oven for 40 minutes on 425 degrees the night before. It’s the same method I used when making my various pumpkin dishes, and takes a lot less cutting work than peeling and cutting the squash into 1-inch pieces. Besides, I’m always terrified I’ll slice off a finger while attempting to dice hard-to-cut squash. When it comes out of the oven, just scoop it out into a bowl and set aside.

Combine butter, onion, and carrot in large saucepan. Cook for 5 minutes. Add squash, apple, and broth. Bring to boil and simmer for 10 minutes or until squash is soft. Puree with your immersion blender (if you don’t have one you can pour the mixture into the food processor in batches and puree that way). Add spices to taste.

3 responses to “Butternut Squash Soup

  1. I highly recommend adding a little bit of freshly cut ginger to any butternut squash soup. The combination works great.

  2. this soup was aaaaamazing

  3. Agree with AVP. I also like to use half butternut and half golden acorn squash for a nice sweetness.

Leave a Reply

