What’s In My Cupboard Lentil Stew

by Kate Steadman

Lentilly Goodness

Lentilly Goodness

I got sick last week.  That delightful wintery cold that starts in your head and works its way to your lungs, till every movement makes you out of breath and you refuse to leave the house.  You know, the one where you drink 6 cups of tea a day to soothe your, well, everything.

So I wanted soup.  I had no soup.  As mentioned above, I did not want to leave the house.  So I went rummaging in my cupboard and found three bags of lentils.   Hmm….soupy and satisfying.   What could I put in it?

I found:

Chicken stock
Shallots (no more onion left)
Garlic
Half a round of breakfast sausage
Uncle Brutha’s Fire Sauce No. 10

So I threw in one shallot, 3 cloves of crush garlic and crumbled in the sausage. I also shook in a smidge of olive oil so things wouldnt’ stick to the pan.  I browned the sausage then added the chicken stock, probably about a quart.  I put in about 1/2 c of red lentils, 3/4 cup lentils du puy (french green lentils) and 3/4 yellow lentils, also known as yellow split peas, shook in about 2tlbs of Uncle Brutha’s, and added then enough water to cover everything by an inch.

I brought to a boil and simmered, covered for an hour and half, followed by another 45 mins uncovered.  I wanted the yellow lentils to dissolve and to make the soup into a thick stew.  You can reduce the liquid as much as you like.

I served it with a dollop of sour cream, couple grinds of pepper and some cut up cilantro.  It was enough to make me forget my sorry state for a good 20 minutes.  Plush I had plenty of soup for days, fulfilling my hermit desires.

5 responses to “What’s In My Cupboard Lentil Stew

  1. Thank you. Will definitely try this.

    Always have liked lentils and there’s not much going around on good ways to prepare them.

  2. Are those giant mutant lentils, or is that a tiny bowl?

  3. Pingback: Great Minds Think Alike: More Lentil Soup « The Internet Food Association

  4. Hahah, I think I just took the picture too close up.

  5. You fondness a pancake?
    I searched as is more bits them to prepare.
    Has start a lot of interesting here pancake recipe

Leave a Reply

