Classic Midwestern Beef Stroganoff

By Kay Steiger

Im afraid Ill be known as the person who only makes brown food!

I'm afraid I'll be known as the person who only makes brown food!

My favorite dish growing up was my mom’s beef stroganoff. Most people might find this surprising, considering their last encounter with beef stroganoff was a flavorless brown gravy in a cafeteria. This recipe, pulled from a Betty Crocker cookbook I think my mom got as a wedding present, is amazing. I highly recommend it in these winter months. (psst, the secret ingredient is ketchup!)

1 lb. beef tenderloin or serloin steak, 1/2 inch thick and cut into chunks
2 tbsp. butter
8 oz. baby bella mushrooms, sliced
1 can (14 oz.) low-sodium beef broth, divided
2 tbsp. ketchup
3 cloves garlic
1 tsp. salt
3 tbsp. flour
1 cup dairy sour cream
3 to 4 cups cooked egg noodles

Melt butter into large skillet and brown mushrooms, onion, and garlic. Remove from skillet and set aside. Lightly brown meat in the same skillet. Reserve 1/3 cup of beef broth, and stir in the rest with the beef. Add katchup and salt. Cover and simmer for 15 minutes.

Shake remaining broth and flour in tupperware with tightly fitting lid and shake together to mix well, as if you are making gravy. Stir broth and flour mixture into into beef. Add mushrooms and onion. Heat to boiling, stiring constantly for 1 minute. Reduce heat, stir in sour cream, heat. Serve over noodles. Serves 4.

All done and delicious

All done and delicious

9 responses to “Classic Midwestern Beef Stroganoff

  1. Russell L. Carter

    You can use a grilled rare steak left over from the previous night sliced thin, and the improvement is quite noticeable. Just add it at the last minute so it gets warm, no need to cook. Similarly, at the expense of some extra time a cup of good white wine reduced with the browned onions and mushrooms yields a nice improvement. Finally, I am a garlic fanatic but I leave it out of my stroganoff. Instead, a few shavings of nutmeg is nice (suggested by a 30 y/o Joy of C, ISTR).

  2. I thought a good stroganoff sauce was supposed to have some cooking wine in there…say a Chardonnay. Oh well, that is what I prefer anyway.

  3. My mouth is watering for this as I write. Bar none that same recipe is the one I make and know it well.

    Being a native Pittburgher…I would elaborate on your secret ingredient as being HEINZ ketchup.
    ……and nobody paid me to say that. It’s just the best that’s all.

  4. I would elaborate on your secret ingredient as being HEINZ ketchup.

    Interesting. We just made the switch to Red Gold ketchup. And nothing against Pittsburgh (I love the place) but Red Gold is an Indiana company(my home state), and we like their ketchup just as well and it costs quite a bit less.

  5. @Russell L. Carter My mom definitely used to make stroganoff with leftover steaks. I so rarely have leftover steak these days, though, so I tend to have to cook the meat raw. As for wine, alas, my mother never made the dish with it, so I don’t know what it would taste like. It might be a good thing to try in the future!

  6. sprinkling a bit of chopped parsley over that would help in making it look a bit less vomitacious.

  7. Wow .. this looks really delicious … its a must try for me … Laila .. http://limeandlemon.wordpress.com

  8. i just love beef stroganoff can’t get over it really!

  9. This indeed is a good classic dish, thanks!

Leave a Reply

