I’m sick.

By Amanda Mattos

tissuesSo is just about everyone I know. I’ve got the sore throat/stuff head variety of winter cold. Over the past few years, I’ve been perfecting my Make Me Feel Better drink, and now I’ve got it down to a science. The next time it hurts to swallow and your head is just full, try making a pot of this stuff. It’ll sooth you at least for a little while.

Note: I usually make it in a teapot with a built-in strainer, but simply pouring it all into a mug and avoiding the chunks works too (if you’re making just one mug instead of a pot full, amend the recipe a bit — maybe half everything). Just depends how picky you are about things floating in your drinks. Sometimes floaters can be fun; today I noticed that cloves look a lot like little microphones. And that made me laugh for a little while, as I muttered “heyo, is this thing on?” into my mug. OK maybe I have a fever and am not making sense anymore. On to the recipe.

Just put the following into a tea pot, and cover with hot hot water. Let it steep for a few minutes, then enjoy.

  • Two lemon slices, squeezed and dropped in
  • Two orange slices, squeezed and dropped in
  • 3-5 cloves
  • A few shakes of crushed red pepper flakes
  • A knot of ginger, peeled and cut into chunks
  • 2-3 tablespoons of honey

I think I’ll go make myself another cup right now.

7 responses to “I’m sick.

  1. Pingback: For all of my friends who are illin’ « Raenielyn

  2. Pingback: Dick Gregory’s Anti-Sickness Elixir « The Internet Food Association

  3. I’ve totally had Amanda’s brew and it works wonders!

  4. Pingback: D’oh! « The Internet Food Association

  5. Um, wouldn’t an earl grey teabag kind of bring the whole random thing together?

    Sorry, just asking…

    mikey

  6. Or some whisky? Whisky skins are so awesome.

  7. this sounds delicious– ginger is great for a sore throat (and nausea!). I’d recommend using ginger purchased from an Asian supermarket– it’s much juicier and more flavorful than the kind you get at American supermarkets, which tends to be stringy and dry. Grate it to extract the maximum amount of ginger juice and dump it all into the cup.

Leave a Reply

