What We Ate: Korean Short Ribs, Etc.

shortribmandy4001By Mandy Simon

Saturday turned out to be pretty perfect as Saturdays go. A trip to the comic book store yielded most of the 100 Bullets series and a stop at Whole Foods yielded the ingredients for a meal that began cooking 6 hours before consumption. A few of those recipes came from Tastespotting, which is fast becoming my new obsession.

The short ribs recipe was ridiculously easy and, when I realized I forgot the fresh ginger, ground ginger filled in adequately. I also used dark brown sugar and that gave the sauce a deeper flavor and color. In the end, though, it would take a lot for this to taste horrible after simmering in the crock pot all day.

To accompany our ribs, Spencer made his delicious mashed potatoes with coconut milk and flash-pickled a salad out of cabbage, bean sprouts, carrots and parsley. I put together a Thai salad that ended up being the surprise hit of the night which tasted even better the next day (I recommend julienning all the vegetables).

Reading in bed all day with this aroma floating up from the kitchen below was, to say the least, heavenly. If you don’t have a crock pot, I HIGHLY suggest you get one. If you do have one, pretty please post your favorite crock pot/slow cooker recipes in the comments so I can have something to cook for my next lazy Saturday.

2 responses to “What We Ate: Korean Short Ribs, Etc.

  1. I’m so glad you enjoyed the short ribs! They’re a definite favorite at our house too. I’m going to have to try those mashed potatoes – they sound delicious!

  2. I think this is a bittman recipe – but short ribs with coffee and red wine (add spices) to braise in a crock pot is damn good.

    I also enjoy a beef (or lamb if you’re feeling fancy) stew with your average stew veggies (onions, carrots, potatoes, mushrooms, etc.), beef stock, crushed tomatoes, and ALLOT of the following – cumin, mustard powder, coriander. One thing I always have to remember to do is to really sear the stew meat before throwing it in the crock pot.

Leave a Reply

