Angry Rant From a New Yorker: Eli’s is the Only Decent Kosher Food in D.C.

By Ben Adler

I finally made it to Eli’s and a I second Spencer. That corned beef is legit. Lean, salty, tender and tasty. I got a cheese-less Ruben with it piled high on Kraut and Rye Bread. Shmear a little mustard on there and I’m in heaven. And there were sour pickles.

That said I have my issues with Eli’s. They really are kosher, so you cannot get milk in your coffee. Fine, I said, how about some soy milk? The waitress came over instead with those corn syrup filled non-dairy creamers. Telling me that is soy milk is like, to paraphrase a certain famous Jewish judge from New York, pissing on my leg and telling me it’s raining. Also, it’s pretty lame that there is only one place you can get real corned beef in this entire city, but that’s one more than I thought there was.

5 responses to “Angry Rant From a New Yorker: Eli’s is the Only Decent Kosher Food in D.C.

  1. Even his compliments are angry rants. That’s hilarious.

  2. You are not allowed to talk about something being “the only decent corned beef in dc” unless you have tried Deli City up Bladensburg Road.

    Yes, I know — it’s further in the hood than most hipsters go. Rent a zip-car.

  3. I finally read a Ben Adler post that had some relevant information in it.

    That said, I have my issues with Ben Adler.

  4. This post made me feel good. If Eli’s is some of the best Corned beef in DC it must be a sad place to live. There are more than a few places here in PDX that are much better. Kenny and Zukes down by Powell’s is so much better than Eli’s that really it doesn’t seem like the same food. And you can get cream in the coffee.

    DN

Leave a Reply

