Creamy Italian Sausage Pasta Sauce

By Kay Steiger

Cream AND sausage? My dream come true!

Cream AND sausage? My dream come true!

I mentioned in my last post that I love creamy sauces. Well, this one is true to form. I saw it on Simply Recipes a few weeks ago and knew I just had to make it. I have to say, though, decasing the sausage was one of the grossest things I’ve done in a very long time. Recipe after the jump.

Fettuccine with Creamy Tomato Italian Sausage Sauce

2 Tbsp olive oil
3 shallots, chopped
2 large garlic cloves, chopped
1/2 pound sweet Italian sausage, casings removed
1/2 pound spicy or hot Italian sausage, casings removed
1 cup whipping cream
2 14.5-ounce cans diced tomatoes in juice
1 Tbsp dried sage
3/4 pound fettuccine
1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese

Heat oil in heavy large pot over medium-high heat. Add shallots and garlic and sauté until beginning to soften, about 3 minutes. Add sausages and sauté until no longer pink, breaking up the sausages a bit, about 5 minutes. Add cream; simmer 5 minutes. Add tomatoes with juices. Add sage. Simmer until sauce thickens, stirring occasionally, about 15 minutes.

Meanwhile, cook pasta in large pot of boiling salted water until just tender but still firm to bite. Drain pasta, reserving 1/2 cup cooking liquid.

Return pasta to same pot; add sauce. Toss over medium heat until sauce coats pasta, adding reserved cooking liquid by 1/4 cupfuls if mixture is dry. Season with salt and pepper. Transfer to bowl; sprinkle with cheese and serve.

Serves — well, let’s be realistic — it serves 3, with leftovers. But she’s right. You should definitely serve it with some red wine.

5 responses to “Creamy Italian Sausage Pasta Sauce

  1. Helena Montana

    What’s so hard or icky about de-casing a sausage? Simply run a knife tip along the length of the sausage, cutting the casing but not slicing into the sausage, and pull the casing off. Easy!

    Oh, well, I do see how it might upset some squeamish men. Meh!

    The recipe does look yummy, though. It also looks like a heart attack on a plate. Or, as we say in our family (right before we dig into the rare roast beef with yorkshire pudding and gravy)…CHOLESTERAMA!

  2. I think decasing sausage is gross too, but I always do it because I like my sausage crumbly, not in links or slices. I have to try Helena Montana’s suggestion above next time.

    This looks so good… I too love sausage and cream sauce. Had a great mussel dish in Maine that uses sausage and cream — has fennel too!
    http://megan-deliciousdishings.blogspot.com/2008/11/home-away-from-home-part-3.html

  3. You all have got to try River Cafe’s sausage with tomato and bay leaves and cream, etc. Here.

  4. When I decase sausage just grab a link in the palm of my hand and squeeze. Sausage extrusion!

    As for recipes a pound of sausage, 8 ounces of cream (whipping no less) and then cheese? all for less than one pound of pasta? That’s silly!

    and I want to eat.

  5. I think the grossest part for me was realizing that this is an intestine, and that my own intestines are just as flimsy as I sliced it up. Not difficult, but still kinda icky.

Leave a Reply

