IFA Likes: Vinturi

by Amanda Mattos

vinturiThe Kitchn put up a post today with a slew of wine gadgets and asks if they’re useful or just another thing to spend money on and make room for in your kitchen. I can’t speak to the rest of the list, but the Vinturi is an absolute, 100%, completely awesome bit of wine-drinking technology.

I don’t have one myself, but my dad does. (The only reason I don’t is I haven’t seen one yet in a store; but now that I’ve been tipped off to their website, that problem is about to be solved.) Trotting the Vinturi out and inviting guests to do taste tests has become one of my dad’s favorite activities, so I’ve had the opportunity to taste its magic many, many times. And believe me when I say: this little plastic egg turns a $15 bottle of wine into a $40 bottle of wine. It does far more than decanting, and takes no time at all. You just pour the wine through the funnel on its way into your glass. A little cyclone-type movement aerates the wine and does it tremendous favors. It may not sound like much, but it really is a phenomenal gadget for anyone who likes wine.

Leave a Reply

