Lemon-Walnut Hummus

By Ezra Klein

Here’s what I learned last night: If you’re making hummus but find yourself out of tahini, walnuts are a perfectly delicious substitute.

I, it should be said, was not out of tahini. In fact, I’d been overcharged on tahini earlier that very day. But flipping through some cookbook or another, I found a recipe for lemon-walnut hummus that sounded pretty good. Take a can of chickpeas, a half cup of toasted walnuts (I used a bit more), a quarter cup of extra virgin olive oil, a few shakes of cumin, a shake or two of coriander, cayenne to taste (I added as much cayenne as I did cumin),  and three tablespoons of lemon juice. Combine in the food processor. Pulse for 15 seconds. If you want to thin it out, add a tablespoon or two of water and pulse again. Totally delicious. Dead simple. This stuff will be in my fridge from now on.

I also made fresh pitas, but I’ll tell you about that later.

11 responses to “Lemon-Walnut Hummus

  1. this hummus is good

  2. I’m not a big fan of tahini (something about sesame seeds in general just tastes wrong to me, though I love Chinese sesame oil), so I usually use pine nuts for the same purpose. Delicious.

  3. So are you saying it’s better than regular hummus? You say it’s “delicious,” but regular hummus is also delicious.

  4. It’s hard to say, given how much I also love regular hummus. Suffice to say it’s worth making, and possibly bathing in.

  5. John Voorheis

    I mean, that sounds tasty, but its not hummus – no garlic? no parsley?

  6. Yes, where’s the garlic? (No idea about the parsley, though. Parsley? In hummus?)

  7. I make a very similar hummus, but with garlic, and freshly-ground spices. Try grinding the cumin and coriander fresh; it will blow your mind. I think hummus with walnuts or even just olive oil, instead of the tahini, is a big improvement over the traditional style. Cleaner, somehow. I do love tahini for other applications.

  8. Whoops, there was garlic! I just forgot to write it. And the cumin and coriander should have been fresh, but I didn’t have seeds on hand.

  9. aha! Looking forward to hearing about your pita adventures.

  10. I Love you! Wow, where did you find this recipe?

  11. You were overcharged on tahini? Shouldn’t this be a post about economics?

Leave a Reply

