National Doughnut Day

By Matthew Yglesias

A colleague at my day job reminds me that today is National Doughnut Day, an event that surely any decent food blog ought to cover. It seems to me that a vicious argument about doughnuts would be the appropriate way to mark the occasion. But I find myself really lacking strong feelings about the doughnut. I do, however, have extremely vivid memories of when Krispy Kreme first hit New York City. There was an outlet on 8th Street not far from where I grew up, and the stuff hit Manhattan like crack. For a while, all anyone—teen or adult—would talk about was these delicious doughnuts brought up to the city from Dixie. Then soon enough the enthusiasm faded and everyone, myself included, went back to basically not caring about doughnuts. Then it was off to college in scenic greater Boston where Dunkin’ Donuts seems to account for 30 percent of total retail space.

p1000453_1

Fun fact: In Barcelona, it’s called Dunkin’ Coffee.

12 responses to “National Doughnut Day

  1. So appropriate – you don’t “dunk” anything in a “donut”, you dunk it into coffee. To “dunk” something in a doughnut would require a liquid doughnut.

    MMMmmm… liquid doughnut.

  2. I’ve got a Dunkin’ Donuts in the ground floor of the building I work in… right across from the security guard and the mail room… and I pass by three on my way from North Station to work.

  3. Chris Tybur

    When I visited Boston for the first time in 2005 I was amazed at how I would spot a new Dunkin Donuts seemingly every 5 minutes while traveling through the city.

    30% indeed.

  4. Pingback: Defending the Donut « The Internet Food Association

  5. Pingback: Daily National Day - It’s also National Doughnut Day!

  6. So appropriate – you don’t “dunk” anything in a “donut”, you dunk it into coffee. To “dunk” something in a doughnut would require a liquid doughnut.

    The donut is for dunkin’. It is a dunkin’ donut. What the hell am I supposed to dunk my coffee in?

    I too vividly recall the first blush of that 8th Street Krispy Kreme. Sadly, Krispy Kreme didn’t just cool off, but fell off a cliff. I’m not aware of their having any retail locations in NY anymore.

    Fortunately, we now have the Doughnut Plant on Grand St. If you have not tried their Tres Leches, you must you must you must.

  7. What the hell am I supposed to dunk my coffee in?

    In fairness, I suppose the coffee is for dunkin’ too (the donut the dunked, the coffee the dunkee). It works both ways.

  8. I’m not aware of their having any retail locations in NY anymore.

    Just checked this: the only Krispy Kreme in NYC is the one in Penn Station. They also have no locations in New England at all.

  9. Re: Krispy Kreme in New England: According to my recollections (and backed up by their Web site), there are few in Connecticut.

    I think the worst thing about the Dunkin’ empire here in New England is the way they have caused everyone to start spelling the word “donut” rather than “doughnut,” even when not talking about their brand.

  10. According to my recollections (and backed up by their Web site), there are few in Connecticut.

    You’re right. My eyeballs registered that little green splotch as Greater New York.

  11. I grew up with Stan’s Doughnuts in Westwood (the neighborhood by UCLA). If any doughnut shop deserves to be a national change, they do.

  12. Nathan Williams

    Krispy Kreme did make it to Boston a few years ago, but then left again. The novelty, as Matt mentions, kept them going for a while, but it wasn’t enough, and then they had some Enron-style financial shenanigans.

Leave a Reply

