Rhubarb Question

by Sara Mead

Thanks to the commenters in this thread who turned me onto the concept of making rhubarb syrup to use in making cocktails. These cocktails, which combine the syrup with tequila, were the hit of my 4th of July party, and Emily and I also enjoyed some tasty gin-based rhubarb cocktails the other night. Making the syrup is also very easy (although straining it can get a bit tedious). 

But here’s a question I have: After I make the syrup, I have a big old mound of rhubarb pulp left over, that I’ve strained out of the syrup. Even though it’s contributed a lot of flavor to the syrup, it’s still got plenty of delicious rhubarb flavor itself, although it’s way to sweet to eat on its own. It seems a shame to waste this, particularly given what a small window exists for rhubarb every year–but what can I do with it?

It seems like you should be able to use it in some kind of rhubarb breads or muffins, but all the receipes I’ve found for rhubarb bread or muffins start with raw rhubarb. It also has kind of the texture of applesauce and those weird mixes people sometimes substitute for part of the oil to make lowfat muffins. I tried making bread with the rhubarb pulp leftover from the syrup I made on Sunday, and it was a disaster. I’d love to make more syrup one more time before the season ends–anyone have suggestions for things to do with the pulp?

12 responses to “Rhubarb Question

  1. The first time I made rhubarb syrup I brought the remaining pulp over to my friend who has an ice cream maker, where it went into an amazing strawberry rhubarb ice cream. I have also spooned some of the pulp over yogurt for breakfast.

    But I also wondered about using it like applesauce in making bread or cake. That’s too bad about it not working out. Maybe it would work as a pastry filling? I remember an awesome Rhubarb Pop-Tarts recipe over at the Arugula Files a while back.

    Thanks for the link!

  2. I have no answer to your question. I just want to applaud the frugality/resourcefulness on display in this post! Can’t wait to hear what people say.

  3. You could make it into some strawberry rhubarb compote (just cook the strawberries a bit with a pinch of cinnamon, add the rhubarb, taste for seasoning, voila!).

    I love the ice cream idea! I also think you could easily add the pulp to any scone or muffin recipe – maybe use a blueberry muffin recipe, go slightly light on the wet ingredients, and use the pulp? Blueberries and rhubarb go well with the same proportions of sugar and spice…

  4. What about some kind of crumble? You could add a bit of cornstarch to thicken it up, then use a oat-based or biscuitty topping. In my experience as a shitty baker, crumbles are remarkably forgiving. Who cares about the consistency? Eat it warm with ice cream on top of it and it’s going to be tasty, period.

    The only barrier here is that the pulp might already be too sweet for a crumble, which usually has the fruit with not too much sugar added. If so, you could try mixing it with the least sweet fruit you can think of?

  5. How about mixing it with less sweet berries and layering it into unsweetened yogurt for a parfait or fool? In a pinch you could cook some more rhubarb without sugar and mix into the pulp.

  6. Why don’t you just not strain it out of the syrup? I made some a few weeks ago and just left the pulp in. If you cut the rhubarb in small-ish pieces, the strings of the pulp aren’t that long. I think it looks nice – and it makes you stir your drink more, so you can get some nice drink stirrers.

    The compote idea is good too. I like rhubarb and sour cherries.

  7. two chickens,praying for mercy

    rosy rhubarb sorbet….
    rhubarb ice….
    rhubarb frozen yogurt!!!!!
    here is a recipe link:
    http://www.rhubarbinfo.com/recipe-frozen.html#index_frozen_5

  8. I know it’s not very exciting, but I’m a big fan of using leftover stewed rhubarb with vanilla yoghurt for breakfast- by itself, or with muesli.

  9. regarding rhubarb yogurt

    that sounds really good!
    especially with muesli!

  10. Everyone has such great ideas, and mine are no different. Over ice-cream, yogurt, oatmeal and plain cake are the main ones that come to mind.

  11. Pingback: Best Things I Cooked/Baked/Mixed in 2009 « The Internet Food Association

  12. Pingback: CSA: Week of June 14 « The Internet Food Association

Leave a Reply

