Sausage and Egg Twisty Pasta

By Matthew Yglesias

I don’t want to make it seem as if I can’t think of any food that isn’t fast food, but I’m sort of obsessed with the subject of the subtle differences in McDonaldses from country to country. Blame having watched Pulp Fiction too much as a kid, or the fact that I spent the summer of 1998 in Nizhny Novgorod at a time when a Tsarburger (i.e., quarter pounder) was the only relief from Russia’s “wall of dill” approach to cuisine. Whatever the reason, I enjoyed these photos from the Food Network, including Hong Kong’s Sausage & Egg Twisty Pasta:

mcdonalds-10

The McArabia and the McTurko both seem like pretty good ideas. And Double Beef Prosperity Burger is a sufficiently funny name that I think someone, somewhere should start using the name for something.

6 responses to “Sausage and Egg Twisty Pasta

  1. …that’s food network HUMOR, not the food network. big difference. FNH is funny and relevant. FN is not.
    Enjoyed the post :)

  2. Being that I’m in Hong Kong, I can confirm that the only item on the list that we currently have at McD’s is the banana pie. IIRC all of these other things were seasonal promotions.

    Of course, I only go there for the ice creams….

  3. Somewhat related: you may enjoy the “Fancy Fast Food” blog: http://www.fancyfastfood.com/

  4. I had the McArabia during a layover in Bahrain Int’l and it was pretty solid.

    But best int’l McD offering are the briespritzen I had last time I was in Austria: fried brie and jam! Yum!

    Honorable mention goes to the dragon wrap I had at a KFC in Kunming (like a Peking duck wrap but with boneless strips instead of duck)

  5. My Double Beef Prosperity Blog will be coming soon to a url near you.

  6. Pingback: Matthew Yglesias » How McDonald’s Won the Recession

Leave a Reply

