Your Cobbler Cure: Change The Recipe, Not The Ratio

By Becks

Instead of halving the biscuit topping, try ditching the biscuits altogether. A far superior cobbler can be made by using a sugar cookie dough — it floats on top of the fruit instead of soaking up the juices and makes only a thin topping, resulting in a much better fruit to crust ratio. Now, this won’t work for savory cobblers like Ezra’s since the topping is slightly sweet but I swear it will be the best cobbler you’ve ever had, even if it might confuse your Southern relatives for a little bit.

8 responses to “Your Cobbler Cure: Change The Recipe, Not The Ratio

  1. I can see the appeal, but I’m not buying it. I’m a BIG fan of biscuits (and have my own obnoxiously snobby views about them), I just want my fruit in fairly generous proportion to them. Also, while I know I make damn good biscuits, I’ve never yet found a sugar cookie recipe that produced results I was satisfied with–maybe I’ll try this one for sugar cookies, though.

  2. I’m a huge fan of biscuits qua biscuits. I just think that the sugar cookies work better for cobblers (and I’m a big cobbler fan).

    The linked recipe is only for the sugar cookie cobbler topping (it’s a Cook’s Illustrated reprint from The Best Recipe). I’d use a different recipe for actual sugar cookies.

  3. Growing up, my backyard was full of raspberries, which bore fruit each year for just a few weeks in quantities that (for just my parents and me) required freezing. This cobbler recipe, similar to the approach described above, is a perfect (dare I say failproof?) solution to that problem, and still works today with raspberries from the freezer aisle of my local supermarket. How well would it work for a savory cobbler? That’s a very different question.

    Raspberry cobbler:

    Filling:
    2 c frozen (but thawed) berries (1 bag of Wegman’s unsweetened frozen raspberries works well)
    ¼ – ½ c sugar, depending on how sweet you like your desserts
    1 T cornstarch

    Batter:
    1 c sugar
    1 t baking powder
    3/4 c milk
    1/4 t salt
    3/4 c flour

    1/8 lb of butter

    Mix berries, cornstarch, and sugar and let stand.

    Mix together batter ingredients .

    Melt 1/8 lb butter in 9×9 pan which has been preheating in a 350 degree oven.

    Pour batter into melted butter ; do not stir. Spoon berries *over* the top of the batter.
    Do not stir. Bake at 350 for 45 minutes or until brown. Serve with whipped cream, ice cream, or best of all, frozen vanilla custard

    Serves 6

  4. Kevin, that’s damn near the recipe I grew up with and swear by. I think biscuits on top of fruit does not a cobbler make, by any means. I love the spongier results of this style.

    And Sara, I accidentally doubled the fruit recently when making a blueberry cobbler, and I’ve done it on purpose the past couple times because it was so delicious.

  5. Gross. The reason biscuits, or oatmeal based toppings- as my mother makes, works with cobblers is because of the opposing textures and flavors. Dry toppings soak up the fruit and do not add more sugar. I prefer my mother’s oatmeal topping best of all because it adds a bit of crunch. Using cookie dough sounds like something that came from Sandra Lee.

  6. wow, hilary, that was super harsh…

  7. I have published a lot of cobbler recipes on my website, pumpkin, peach, raspberry, blackberry, cranberry, cherry, blueberry, you name it!

  8. I have a cake recipe that is basically two lots of sugar cookie dough with a heap of fruit in between. Easily the best cake I make: simple and eternally popular.

Leave a Reply

