Corn Chowder. For Real.

By Mandy Simon

Last week during an epic shopping trip to the local Giant, I was taken in by some delicious looking fresh corn. That fresh corn is dying to become chowder, I thought. My original intent was to do this in the crock pot but I ended up having some time on my hands Friday and you know what they say about idle hands…

After being chastised for even thinking of following a recipe, I perused a few online to get a handle on what order I should be adding ingredients and how long I should be simmering so that I could work off the cuff. Here’s what I came up with:

– a tablespoon or so of olive oil
– one yellow onion
– two 32 oz. boxes of chicken stock
– lots of fresh chopped parsley, thyme, rosemary and basil
– about two cups diced baby potatoes
– five ears fresh corn, sliced off the ear
– 1/2 to 3/4 cup heavy whipping cream
– salt and pepper to taste

I chopped the onion and sautéed it in some olive oil for a few minutes before adding the chicken stock and bringing it all to a boil. Added the potatoes and herbs, simmered for 15 minutes. Added the corn, simmered for 15 minutes. In an effort to avoid curdling, I poured the cream into a separate bowl, added stock to bring it up to the correct temperature and then dumped it in the soup. I threw in small amounts of salt and pepper and let it simmer for another 15 minutes.

I just had the last of it for lunch and oh man. So delicious. Really. Add more vegetables or some chilies for heat if you’d like but, seriously, try this while there’s still fresh corn to be had.

8 responses to “Corn Chowder. For Real.

  1. YUM. I love corn chowder like nothing else.

  2. IFA should post on making stock.

  3. I used to really loathe the people who talked about how homemade stock was so much better than store-bought stock. I used to think those people were jackasses. Then I actually tasted some stock from a box, straight up. It tasted like stale eau de body odor. I didn’t start making my own stock (too lazy), but I did stop using the stuff from the box.

    Now I just use water. And salt.

  4. That said, this recipe sounds awesome.

  5. Okay, so now you’ve got me jonesing for homemade corn chowder. Guess I know what I’ll be doing this afternoon!

  6. After cutting the corn off the cobs you should throw the cobs in to pot and simmer them for a while. They are just full of delecious corn flavor. I recently made some corn broth by boiling the cobs in water with a little salt and pepper. I was going to make a soup out of it, but the broth was so delecious I ate it all before I had a chance to make the soup!

  7. Stock doesn’t have to be oven roast bones, and 3 days of reduction. Water and salt are great. Try adding other veg from the fridge and things will continue to improve. http://www.districtplates.com/2009/02/16/taking-stock/

  8. I agree with scott.

Leave a Reply

