Eggplant FAIL. But sauce win!

g8l

By Ezra Klein

“It looks like Dresden,” wrote one wag on Twitter. But it wasn’t Dresden. It was last night’s eggplant. And it was such a fail.

The recipe was gorgeous. I don’t have the cookbook handy, but the eggplant was a play on Nobu’s miso cod: it was brushed in a glaze of sake, mirin, soy, miso, honey, and lemon. I didn’t have a lemon, and added some sriracha and freshly grated ginger. But I made too much. I had a lot of eggplant, and I wanted to glaze some tofu, too. That meant the oven would be too full for broiling. So I cranked it up to 500 degrees and waited.

I waited too long, obviously. More to the point, when I checked on it, I only checked the tofu and eggplant on the top rack. Five minutes later, I smelled burning. The eggplant on the bottom rack had — of course — been cooking quite a bit faster. Hence the carnage above. Happily, the tofu and eggplant on the top rack were doing fine, so dinner wasn’t a total bust. And the recipe wasn’t itself a fail: the glaze was delicious. It’s definitely entering rotation. Here’s how you make it:

3/4 cup sake

1/4 cup honey

1/4 cup mirin

1/2 cup soy sauce

3 tablespoons miso

About a tablespoon of grated ginger

About a tablespoon of sriracha.

Combine in a pot and reduce down by about half. You can use it as a glaze, or you can toss it with a stir fry. Or hell, just drink it. Bathe in it. I’d also add a couple whole black peppercorns to the enterprise.

4 responses to “Eggplant FAIL. But sauce win!

  1. still sounds yummy. im going to try

  2. If you’re single, find yourself a nice Turkish girl and your eggplant woes will be over.

  3. oy…..broiled and burnt honey on the baking sheet.
    carpal tunnel syndrome waiting to happen.
    this is why i dont cook.

    i would rather do water colors that last for a century, and run cold water on the sable brushes…a little pool of cerulean blue, like a watery vortex, down the drain… and that’s that….than do battle with a baking pan, encrusted with burnt honey.
    by the end of that adventure, i would have burns on my knuckles from the oven…scorched honey crusts on my dish towels, scratchmarks on the porcelain sink…
    as well as personal injuries… a good likelihood that i might have sustained a knife injury with the eggplant …certainly would have inflicted some pain with the grater and hand of ginger!
    for some, cooking is a labor of love…for me, it is a form of self-mutilation, costly mistakes and fatigue,
    i know my baking pan would have ended up in the recycle bin.
    i would mutter to myself, “remind me never to try this again. what was i thinking?”

    i would rather mix my purples and violets, and paint an immortal eggplant, than cook one.
    but bless you for your hard work, determination and good efforts!
    bon appetit! i know it will be perfect next time!!
    :-)

  4. This sauce is definitely a winner!

Leave a Reply

