All I Want for Christmas is Cookies: Holiday Squares

by Sara Mead

This recipe, from my parents’ friend Mrs. Wotring, is the first recipe I ever asked anyone for. I was in 4th grade, and my family had just moved to Lewes, Del. The church we were attending had a coffee hour following the service, for which various families in the church volunteered to provide treats. Mrs. Wotring made these. I adored them. I asked her for the recipe, which she gave to my mom. The Wotrings and my folks are still friends.

1 & 1/2 cup sugar

1 cup margarine

4 eggs

2 cups flour

1 T lemon juice

1 can cherry pie filling

confectioners sugar

Heat oven to 350

Add sugar to marg. – blend with elec. mixer.

Add eggs one at a time

Add flour and lemon juice

Beat @ high speed 1 min. – batter is thick

Pour into well greased 9x 13 pan. Spread with spatula

Mark into squares with knife. Place cherry pie filling into center of each square. (Don’t use all gooey stuff as it soaks cakes.)

Bake 35 min. While warm sift confectioners sugar on top.

Leave a Reply

