All I Want for Christmas is Cookies: Lace Cookies

by Sara Mead

These are a light, almost candy-like cookie with a yummy toffee taste. In keeping with the name, they’re also typically quite pretty–which is where I ran into some problems with these. I used this recipe from sugarlaws, whose cookies did indeed look lovely. Mine did not–during baking, my dough spread too much and too thin, producing cookies that burned in the recommended amount of cooking time and shattered into pieces when I tried to handle them. Really tasty–but not sufficiently attractive to post here. After the first batch cooked, I added more oatmeal to the remaining dough, shortened the cooking time, and got better results, which you see above.  Still not as pretty as I would wish, though, but very yummy.  I dipped the edges in chocolate ganache, rather than drizzling over the top.

Modified recipe, based on my experience, below:

1/2 cup quick oats

1/4 cup flour

1/4 tsp baking powder

1/2 cup sugar

5 Tablespoons melted butter

2 Tablespoons heavy cream

Pinch of salt

Combine all ingredients in bowl. Roll teaspoon-sized amounts of mixture into balls (get these as round as possible so they will spread out evenly) and place on parchment-covered cookie sheet at least 3 inches apart (DO NOT underestimate how much they will spread). Bake at 425 for 5 minutes, or until edges start to brown. Remove from oven and remove entire parchment from cookie sheet to cool before removing individual cookies. If desired, top with or dip in chocolate ganache.

One response to “All I Want for Christmas is Cookies: Lace Cookies

  1. Pingback: Relishments » In Which I Make a Lot of Cookies

Leave a Reply

