All I Want for Christmas is Cookies: Chocolate Crinkles or Snowballs

by Sara Mead

Chocolate Crinkles, also known as Snowballs, are a classic Christmas goodie. I was disappointed with this recipe, from Joy of Baking. The cookies barely puffed up at all in the baking process–which is kind of essential to get the “crinkle” effect these cookies are named after–and they were dry without much taste, either. So I’m not reprinting the recipe here. I was thinking about not posting these cookies at all, but then I realized that would leave a pressing question unanswered: I’ve heard these cookies called both crinkles and snowballs, and I’m wondering if there’s some kind of regional speech variation–like the all-important soda/pop distinction–that explains that. What do you call these cookies?

One response to “All I Want for Christmas is Cookies: Chocolate Crinkles or Snowballs

  1. Just to add to the confusion, I have two recipes for similar cookies. One is titled Cocoa Snowflakes, and the other Chocolate Crackles.

Leave a Reply

