Best Things I Cooked/Baked/Mixed in 2009

by Sara Mead

I suppose I should have done this earlier in the week, when other people were making their 2009 “best-of” lists, but I was busy hanging out with my family and just thought of it now.

The best thing I baked in 2009 was these Pfeffernusse cookies. The best thing I cooked in 2009 was Maple-Brined Pork Chops. The best drink I made wasn’t actually a drink at all, but Rhubarb Simple Syrup, which led to the creation of a number of delicious cocktails, the best of which was created by Emily using the rhubarb syrup, Bombay Sapphire, soda, and basil leaves. Some of the other things I’m happiest to have learned to make this year: Ma-Po tofu, brussels sprouts with bacon, a perfect classic Paloma, and my own homemade frozen lunches and dinners.

What were your “best-ofs” for 2009?

3 responses to “Best Things I Cooked/Baked/Mixed in 2009

  1. Those pork chops — you just made me very hungry. I have never have it like that, but thanks for the tip. Next weekend I will have some party! :-)

  2. By far the best thing I discovered this past year was a recipe for pulled pork done in the oven rather than a smoker (from the same guy who did the how-to-eat-a-chicken-wing video that circulated recently). I only found it a month ago and I’ve already made it three times. Link through handle, even if you don’t care for pulled pork that guy’s entire blog is pretty awesome.

  3. God has poured out his love into our hearts.- Romans 5:5

Leave a Reply

