Saturday Breakfast, I Love You

By Mandy Simon

Weekend breakfasts are my favorite breakfasts. Nothing beats a morning spent sleeping then waking up to wander into kitchen to get creative. I’ve been going through a pretty intense mushroom phase so  I started thinking about how I was going to use all the cremini and white mushrooms in the fridge. I decided to remake a quick mushroom sauté to serve over some poached eggs and english muffins. It turned out really well.

I decided to put together a quick salad and got that out of the way first (mixed greens, cucumber, tomato, red onion and blue cheese seasoned and tossed with olive oil and sherry vinegar).

For the sauté, I chopped up a 3 or 4 ounce mixture of the mushrooms into a fine dice and minced three cloves of garlic. I sautéed the garlic in about a tablespoon of butter then threw in the mushrooms with salt and pepper. While the mushrooms were cooking I toasted the english muffins (which I topped with a little butter and parmesan). Once the mushrooms finished cooking, I stirred in a bunch of shaved parmesan and set them aside.

Now, if you’ve been reading the IFA for a while you may remember that I’ve been pretty intimidated by poaching eggs in the past. Well, NOT ANYMORE. Ladies and gentlemen, for the first time today, I simultaneously poached four eggs in one pot. FREESTYLE. No fancy egg poaching instruments to help me. They didn’t all turn out perfect (a few were overdone) but still. I’m pretty proud.

I served the eggs on the toasted muffins, spooned the mushrooms on top and, of course, grated more parmesan.

Readers, if you’ve got any great mushroom recipes to share, please stop holding out on me.

4 responses to “Saturday Breakfast, I Love You

  1. I am a mushroom fanatic. Here are four terrific ones that I’ve made lately. The crabless crab cakes may sound weird, but they are delicious.

    Polenta with Wild Mushroom Ragu – http://whattoeattonight.blogspot.com/2009/12/sunday-night-polenta-with-wild-mushroom.html

    Barley with Mushrooms and Green Beans – http://whattoeattonight.blogspot.com/2009/11/sunday-night-barley-with-mushrooms-and.html

    Mushroom Bourguignon-
    http://whattoeattonight.blogspot.com/2009/10/wednesday-night-mushroom-bourguignon.html

    Crabless Crab Cakes -http://whattoeattonight.blogspot.com/2009/06/monday-night-crabless-crab-cakes.html

  2. Thanks! I’ll definitely try the bourguignon. Sounds fantastic.

  3. Try not putting all the mushrooms in at once. Learn to brown them by putting them over high heat in several small batches. Mushrooms like criminis or buttons are not supposed to be sauteed.

    As for poaching, try the swirling method (swirl the water around your egg to make the white come together) and make sure you have enough white vinegar in the water.

  4. Try not putting all the mushrooms in at once. Learn to brown them by putting them over high heat in several small batches. Mushrooms like criminis or buttons are not supposed to be sauteed.

    Then how do you keep them warm until it’s time to eat?

Leave a Reply

