C-S-A

by Sara Mead

I’ve wanted to sign up for a CSA for several years, but this is the first time I’ve gotten myself organized enough to actually do it. For 28 weeks this summer and fall, I’ll be receiving produce from Lancaster Farm Fresh Cooperative.

I’m not quite sure what I’m going to do with all the veggies I expect to get–particularly since some of them are things I’ve never cooked before and am not familiar with. So I thought that I’d post my produce list every week on the ifa and ask readers to let me know of any awesome ideas for these ingredients. If I make anything noteworthy or particularly delicious, I’ll post the results here, too. Today is my first pickup, and I’m scheduled to receive the following:

  • 1 bunch Hakurei turnips – certified organic – Autumn Blend Organics
  • 1 bag snow peas – certified organic – White Swan Acres
  • 1 bunch scallions – certified organic – Sweetaire Organics
  • 1 bunch green kale – certified organic – Life Enhancing Acres
  • 1 head green, red or flashy troutsback Romaine lettuce – certified organic – Riverview Organics
  • 1 bunch mustard greens – certified organic – Maple Lawn Organics
  • 2 small heads green leaf lettuce – certified organic – Back 40 Ranch
  • 1 head castle Franco radicchio – certified organic – Autumn Blend Organics

11 responses to “C-S-A

  1. How To Cook Everything (or I assume its corresponding iPhone app) is a huge inspiration for what to do with CSA pickup (we’re going on our third year of a veggie share). Bittman will give you simple recipes for how to prepare most or all of these things, but more importantly, it will give you a nice place to start for inspiring your own ideas.

  2. Harukei Turnips are kind of like large sweet radishes, not unlike Daikon. Slice them thin, raw, onto salads for some crunch. Those were something I only encountered for the first time last year at my CSA. I know you can cook them as well but I’ve never done that.

  3. Pingback: Oeufs Durs « The Grandma Blog

  4. We used this CSA last year and were generally pretty pleased with them. All of the greens, the kale in particular (toward the end you’ll probably start getting a ton of lacinto/black kale, which is awesome), were really great to have on hand. For a quick dinner, you can slice the kale super thin, fry some bacon and then cook the sliced kale in the bacon grease with some garlic and/or onions. Stick that on top of some polenta or serve it with bread and a couple fried eggs apiece and you’re all set.

  5. I’ve been thinking about joining a CSA but I’m worried about the same thing – too many weird vegetables we won’t eat. I’m buying organic fruits and vegetables from a local market, but I’m hoping to do some self-pick this summer.

    Thanks!

  6. I totally want to join a CSA for exactly that reason! I want to eat foreign and weird things! I love always trying new food! Lets buy weird veggies and grow great organics!

  7. We’re going to be posting CSA Pics of the week on EatMore DrinkMore. Show off your bounty by emailing us your photos.

  8. At my house, the Harukei turnips get eaten out of hand (sweet, crunchy and oh so good!) while the greens get cooked down with onion and maybe bacon. I’ve been using all of our kale for raw salads or kale chips in the dehydrator.

  9. You know, sweetgreen makes this spicy crispy kale that is out of this world. It’s three ingredients–garlic salt, sriacha and a little bit of oil. Broil it until it gets really crispy. I asked how they make it and that’s what they told me. I’m thinking of making it myself one day.

  10. I do that with all kinds of greens – chop, toss with oil and some seasoning (often just sea salt) and into a hot oven. Delish.

    I like the challenge of figuring out what to do with the random stuff from the CSA.

Leave a Reply

