CSA: Week of June 21

Here’s what I got from my CSA this week:

1 box new red potatoes – Green Valley Organics

1 bunch beets – Farmdale Organics

1 bunch garlic – Farmdale Organics and Misty Meadow Organics

1 bunch green shallots – Shady Brook Organics

1 bag snow peas – White Swan Acres

1 bunch dandelion greens – Hillside Organics

1 head butter head (bib) lettuce –  Goshen View Organics

One of my favorite discoveries from the CSA thus far has been beet greens. I enjoy beets from time to time, and know the greens also make a tasty dish, but the beets available at my local grocery store always have ratty and sad-looking greens that I can’t imagine eating. Not so the CSA beets–the greens are beautiful, full, and make a tasty dish. See my beet greens and cooking instructions below the fold.

Here’s what I did: Cut 1 or two pieces bacon (depending on how much greens you have and whether you prefer the bacon to serve as flavor enhancement for the greens, or the greens to serve as vehicle for bacon consumption) into small pieces and fry in pan. After bacon is cooked, add ~1 clove garlic, minced, and some type of onion or shallot, chopped, minced, or sliced thin as you prefer (I thin-sliced one of the shallots I got). If you are using red stems of beet greens (chopped into tiny pieces), add them now as well. I  like using them because it makes the greens prettier. Add pepper and salt to taste. Cook until slightly transparent. Add 1/2 to 1 cup of water, 1 tsp sugar, and 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes. Toss in beet greens and cook, stirring, until water is mostly cooked down and greens are soft (about 5 minutes). Add 1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar and deglaze pan. Serve with chopped hard-boiled egg on top and vinegar to taste.

Leave a Reply

