CSA: Week of September 6

I’ve been a bit remiss about posting the contents of my CSA box for the last month or so, partly because I was out of town a good bit, and partly because it was pretty similar throughout July and August and, while delicious, not that interesting to read. I have, however, learned how to make a mean fried okra courtesy of the CSA.

Now we’re getting into fall, I’m going to start up again, in large part because I’m guessing that, as we get into the long season of squashes and dark leafy greens, I’m gonna need some more help keeping things fresh.

Here’s what I ended up with this week:

  • 3 ears of corn
  • 1 squash
  • 2 bunches kale
  • 3 candy onions
  • 1 bag tomatillos
  • 1 bag apples

Now, I didn’t think I was much of a fan of kale, but after this week, I think I’m a convert. I used one bunch to make kale chips, which were yummy and fun, and the other to make a super-easy kale and sweet potato dish of my own devising that I absolutely loved. I’ve got a number of good ideas for the squash.  And I’m thinking applesauce is definitely happening at some point this fall.

What I have absolutely no idea what to do with are the tomatillos. Apparently, I am supposed to use them to make salsa. This seems a little bit uninteresting to me, and also like more salsa than I’m likely to eat in a timely fashion. Any other suggestions out there?

8 responses to “CSA: Week of September 6

  1. I’m making time for the farmers market this weekend to get tomatillos so I can make this: http://www.girlsgonechild.net/2010/09/eat-well-for-comfort-tomatillo.html

  2. green chicken chile! white beans, tomatillos, and shredded chicken = delicious.

  3. Its all about what you do with the salsa. You don’t just have to eat it with chips.

  4. you can make the salsa and freeze it. char everything in a skillet or under the broiler – tomatillos, onions, chiles. then in the food processor with cilantro, lime, and salt. so good.

  5. classic prep: tomatillos into vita-prep. puree with stock, garlic, and onion. then a: get a pan screeching hot, and drop the puree in and reduce; or b: stew your meat in it (pork shoulder is the classic), then reduce.

    a new idea: candy the tomatillo in the style of a moustarda: syrup, mustard, tomatillos, and maybe some tequilla.

  6. I just made the best “tex-mex inspired” chicken soup this weekend with tomatillos. Sauté oregano, cumin, 2 seeded chipotle peppers, onions, celery, carrots, and chopped tomatillos in a Tb of olive oil. Add at least 48oz of low sodium stock. Add roasted chicken breast. Simmer for at least 40 minutes. Serve with lime, avocado, and cilantro. Excellent soup for when you’re feeling under the weather as I was.

    The next day I had some tomatillos left and I added them to a shrimp and sweet potato gumbo. yum!

  7. My first thought was soup, but any kind of sauce-like application works well. I’ve been really into steamed clams/mussels ever since I found out there’s a Polish guy at the Williamsburg (Brooklyn, not VA) farmers’ market who practically gives them away ($6 for a dozen Long Island littlenecks, or $5 for a 1 and a half lb bag of mussels).

    Heat oil in saucepan over medium heat, brown sausage of your choosing. Add oil to pan drippings if necessary, then add chopped garlic, minced onion, and chopped tomatillos. Cook the tomatillos down until they’re saucy, add about 2 cups of white wine, and bring to a boil. Add very well scrubbed bivalves, cover, and cook until they open (about 3-5 minutes, generally). Discard any that don’t open, then finish off the pot with fresh lime juice and cilantro. Season sauce to taste with salt and pepper and serve with lots of bread.

  8. please i need more soup…

Leave a Reply

