CSA Week of September 20

Here’s what I expect to be picking up from the CSA tonight:

  • 1 Bunch Kale
  • 2 Sweet Onions
  • 1 Bag Red Potatoes (3 lbs.)
  • 1 Bag Pea Shoots
  • 1 Bunch Young Orange Carrots
  • 1 Head Green Cabbage
  • 2 Leeks
  • 1 Bunch Curly Parsley
  • 2 Heirloom Tomatoes
  • 1 Head Red Romaine
  • 1 Bag Apples

Man, I am loving having these bags of apples around the last few weeks. I’m chopping them up and throwing them in salads, oatmeal, sandwiches, cereal, even with roasted squash and yams. They make great snacks at work, too (ALMOST cancelling out that bag of candy corn I bought the other day). And I even made a quick and dirty cobbler the other night.

I need some help though, with some of the other stuff I’m getting this week. Kale, I have mastered and now love. But I don’t really know what a pea shoot is, let alone what to do with it. And my search for stuff to do with leeks hasn’t yielded much beyond a whole variety of leek soups–which I’m sure are lovely, but I am so not a that kind of soup kind of girl. I kind of want to carmelize a leek, but don’t really know how, what flavors to use, or what to do with it next. HELP ME INTERNETS!

11 responses to “CSA Week of September 20

  1. I used to sautee leeks and acorn squash cut into rings in apple juice, with some spices – it’s been a while so I don’t remember what I used. The leeks are pretty tough, so they have to cook for a long time.

  2. I would use the leek in a potato gratin. You can find recipes for that everywhere. You mostly want to use the white part, and make sure you cut lengthwise and rinse well, because they’ll get a lot of dirt in there. As for pea shoots, they’re great in salads or just stirfried by themselves very quickly. You’ll probably want to chop them up a bit before cooking/eating.

  3. Leeks can be used in the place of onions in many contexts. Leeks and potatoes make an awesome frittata, if you like that sort of thing.

    I’d also use leeks in braised kale: crisp up some bacon and saute the sliced leeks over medium-high heat in the bacon grease until they’re softened and slightly browned (or just saute the leeks in olive oil if you’re a non-meat person), add a little minced garlic, crushed red pepper flakes, and whatever other seasonings you like, then throw in some coarsely chopped kale. Toss the kale until it’s coated with the seasonings and the leeks are distributed throughout. Add about 1/2 cup of liquid (chicken or beef broth works fine, as does wine, or apple cider, or even water). Cover it and let it cook for a few minutes, then remove the cover and let most of the liquid cook away. Stir the crisped and crumbled bacon back in and finish it off with some balsamic vinegar and pine nuts– or whatever other flavoring agents you like.

  4. oh god, Pea Shoots are the best. Just saute with garlic.

  5. There’s a Good Eats episode where Alton makes onion rings with leeks.

  6. I use leeks with fish.. steemed, stirfried whatever.. They are also good with brothy mussels or clams.

    pea shots are AMAZING. they are basically the vine part of the plant and are very tasty. You can eat them raw or sauted as mentioned above or steamed is also nice with a little butter.

  7. Jamie Oliver has an entire episode of his ‘Jamie at home’ about leeks. I think the best recipe from that show is: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/jamie-at-home/cheats-pappardelle-with-slow-braised-leeks-and-crispy-porcini-pangrattato-recipe/index.html

  8. For Christmas the last two years, my family has made this particularly decadent version of mashed potatoes (which includes yummy caramelized leeks): Mashed Potatoes with Garlic, Mascarpone & Caramelized Leeks.

    But as others have said, they’re great used in the place of onions in many things. I make a potato-leek galette (fancy gratin) with Gruyere that’s great. But as others have said, be sure to rinse, rinse, and rinse the leeks. They’re gritty little buggers.

  9. is the best… thanks for sharing, you know that?

  10. Heya! I understand this is somewhat off-topic however I needed to ask.
    Does building a well-established blog like yours take a lot of
    work? I’m completely new to blogging but I do write in my
    journal everyday. I’d like to start a blog so I can share my
    experience and views online. Please let me know if you
    have any kind of recommendations or tips for new aspiring bloggers.
    Thankyou!

Leave a Reply

