CSA for 9/29

Here’s what I’m getting this week:

1 Head Green Romaine Lettuce

1 Bunch Dandelion Greens

2 Leeks

2 Delicata Squash

1 Green Acorn Squash

1 Bunch Red Beets

1 Bag Red Gold Potatoes (3lbs)

3 Onions

1 Bag Red and Yellow Delicious Apples

Thanks for the pea shoot links and leek recommendations last week. The pea shoots were terrific, but I still haven’t gotten around to using the leek (busy week!). Hopefully I can combine wt with those I’m getting today in one of the recipes folks recommended.

I think I’m good in terms of what to do with all these items, except possibly dandelion greens–I know how to make a good traditional dandelion greens salad, and it’s tasty, but I’m more than open to alternative suggestions here.

3 responses to “CSA for 9/29

  1. If you’re not vegetarian, I’d suggest frying some bacon and adding in the dandelion greens (and maybe a few scallions) at the end. If you take that mixture and the bacon grease and add them all to smashed potatoes with salt and pepper…very good.

  2. Dandelion greens are really good wilted in an omlette. Kapadia’s suggestion is great too; I think incorporating them into anything you’d normally add some herbs to for flavor would work.

  3. where i can buy that?

Leave a Reply

